Covering the Land of Lincoln

Free and Cheap Outdoor Movies This Summer in Champaign-Urbana

Budget friendly movies shown outdoors to help keep your kids entertained this summer

Warm weather entertainment doesn’t have to break the bank! Where to find free (or cheap) outdoor movies showing for families in Champaign-Urbana and beyond

Movies shown outdoors are a unique tradition for Midwest families. Whether spectators watch the show projected on a sheet in the backyard, or gather more people for the occasion in a park, village square, or pool, we have a list of places you can find movies OUTDOORS around Champaign-Urbana.

Chambanamoms thanks Illini Union Board Summer Quad Movie Series for presenting this list of outdoor movies.

The Illini Union and the Illini Union Board present the Summer Quad Movie Series. Each Thursday during the summer, come enjoy a free movie out on the University of Illinois Quad facing the Illini Union. Snacks and drinks can be purchased from the Illini Union Quad Shop.

Movie on the QuadSummer is just that much more complete with a bucket of popcorn and an outdoor movie, as people gather under the night sky during the Summer Quad Cinema Series at the University of Illinois.

There’s something special about movies during the summertime, isn’t there? And it gets even more special when you get to watch them (gasp!) outside!

We find movie nights popping up where the film is shown on the side of downtown buildings, on big screens next to our favorite pools, and even in the middle of places like Allerton Park. We list all of the local events we know of in the list below. And check back often – we will definitely add to this list as the season progresses.

RELATED: Looking for info on the free summer movies at the Savoy 16 movie theater? Check here!

Thursday, May 26, 2022

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Friday, June 3, 2022

Thursday, June 9, 2022

Saturday, June 11, 2022

Thursday, June 16, 2022

Thursday, June 23, 2022

Friday, June 24, 2022

Thursday, June 30, 2022

Friday, July 1, 2022

Thursday, July 7, 2022

Saturday, July 9, 2022

Thursday, July 14, 2022

Thursday, July 21, 2022

Thursday, July 28, 2022

Friday, July 29, 2022

Thursday, August 4, 2022

Friday, August 5, 2022

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Saturday, August 13, 2022

Thursday, August 18, 2022

Friday, August 26, 2022

Get ready for summer in Champaign-Urbana:

Click here for everything summer

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More